The faculty was established in July 1967 with an initial enrolment of 60 students under what was known as the School of Applied Arts, which was later changed to the School of Arts and Architecture.


In 1971 the School of Arts and Architecture had undergone major reorganisation, and this led to the establishment of two separate schools; one, which emphasised on the built environment, and the other on the arts and design.

Subsequently, the built environment school was named as the School of Architecture, Planning and Surveying which was later known as the Faculty of Architecture, Planning and Surveying. However, the Malay acronym "FSPU" (which stands for Fakulti Senibina, Perancangan dan Ukur) is commonly used within UiTM.

In 1996, due to the restructuring of the Faculty of Engineering, the Department of Surveying Science and Geomatics was placed under the faculty. Located at Shah Alam and within the Klang Valley, the faculty has gained its reputation as one of the pioneering institutions which offered courses in the field of the built environment.

At present, the faculty comprises 11 academic deparments running 31 academic programmes ranging from diploma, undergraduate to postgraduate level of study. Currently, our student population exceeds 14,000 undertaking courses in Shah Alam, Seri Iskandar, Arau and Kota Samarahan campuses.
To establish UiTM as a Globally Renowned University of Science, Technology, Humanities and Entrepreneurship.
To lead the development of agile, professional bumiputeras through state-of-the-art curricula and impactful research.
Core Value
  • Leadership
  • Integrity & Professionalism
  • Sustainability
  • Creativity & Innovation

Organization Chart